← Arizona · All 50 states · California →
Task force or study body Reported
Senate Public Health, Welfare and Labor Committee interim study of digital asset mining facilities (2024) · Status unclear
- Created by: Approved as an interim study at a joint committee meeting reported by the Association of Arkansas Counties; the article links a document named 'isp-2023-097', which suggests an interim study proposal (ISP) number, but the article does not state the instrument, and we have not opened the proposal itself. The meeting date is not stated in the article; its URL suggests February 29, 2024, which is an inference only.
- Organized by: Arkansas Senate Committee on Public Health, Welfare and Labor. Chair Sen. Missy Irvin (R-Mountain View) asked for the study, per the Association of Arkansas Counties.
- Led by: Sen. Missy Irvin, committee chair (as of the 2024 article; no newer leadership information found).
- Members: Members of the Senate Public Health, Welfare and Labor Committee (a standing committee, not a dedicated task force). No outside members were reported.
- Outputs and timeline: The study was scoped to the impact of pollution and depletion of natural resources from digital asset mining facilities. We found no report, hearing record or findings, so we cannot say whether it was completed. Note: the earlier version of this record placed the study in 2025; the source points to 2024.
Sources: Association of Arkansas Counties: Legislature approves cryptocurrency mine study
We found no dedicated blockchain, crypto or fintech task force, commission or working group in Arkansas. The only study we could confirm is the committee-level interim study of mining impacts described above. No Securities Department or State Treasurer task force or initiative was found; the Securities Department's public activity that appeared in our searches was enforcement and consumer-protection notices (for example a multistate settlement with TradeStation, a consent order with Abra and a Bitcoin Depot bankruptcy notice), whose dates we did not confirm. We did not find any source saying an Arkansas body follows The Digital Chamber's model task force bill.
Bitcoin or digital asset reserve law None found
We found no Arkansas bitcoin or digital asset reserve bill or state-fund crypto investment bill in the 2025 regular session or the 2026 fiscal session. NCSL's 2026 tracker lists no Arkansas bills, its 2025 tracker lists none on reserves, and the Bitcoin Laws Arkansas page lists no reserve bill. Arkansas held only a fiscal session in 2026.
Sources: NCSL 2026 crypto legislation tracker (Arkansas: none), NCSL 2025 crypto legislation tracker, Bitcoin Laws: Arkansas
Licensing Reported
Crypto transmission is addressed through the Arkansas Uniform Money Services Act, administered by the Securities Commissioner. Act 557 of 2025 (HB1467) amends it to cover virtual currency kiosks and lets the commissioner require extra security for virtual currency transmission, with surety bonds of $100,000 to $500,000. The Arkansas Data Centers Act of 2023 states that digital asset miners are not money transmitters under that Act (per a secondary source). We have not confirmed from the statute whether the base Act's definition of money transmission generally includes virtual currency. In April 2026 Sen. Bryan King filed a resolution (SR10) that would have required crypto miners to be licensed money transmitters; we did not find that it advanced.
Sources: Act 557 of 2025 (HB1467) text, Arkansas Legislature, NoBS Bitcoin on 2023 miner provisions (secondary), Arkansas Advocate via Arkadelphian: 2026 mining resolutions
Crypto kiosks (ATMs) Confirmed
HB1467 became Act 557 of 2025 (House notified April 14, 2025; passed the House March 20 and the Senate April 8, 2025), amending the Uniform Money Services Act: kiosk risk and fraud disclosures, receipts, ID collection, blockchain analysis, daily limits of $2,000 for new customers and $7,500 for existing customers, a fee cap of $5 or 18%, refunds for new customers defrauded within 72 hours of registration, elder-customer calls, a chief compliance officer, and surety bonds. The legislature's bill page does not show an effective date and we have not confirmed it from the act text.
Sources: Act 557 of 2025 text, Arkansas Legislature, HB1467 bill page, Arkansas Legislature, Orrick: Arkansas adds crypto kiosk provisions (Apr 18, 2025)
Industry groups (non-governmental)
- Arkansas Blockchain Council: A state blockchain industry group appears in Arkansas press coverage: the Arkansas Democrat-Gazette ran a headline on April 28, 2024 saying its president described crypto regulations as 'welcome', and Arkansas Business keeps a topic page under its name. We could not open either page's text, so we have not confirmed who leads it, what it does or whether it remains active. It is not among the known North American Blockchain Association members and we found no source saying it has joined.
Sources: Arkansas Democrat-Gazette headline (Apr 28, 2024; text not accessed), Arkansas Business topic page
Other 2025 to 2026 actions
- 2026-04-29: Sen. Bryan King (R-Green Forest) filed six Senate resolutions in April 2026 (SR7 to SR12) to authorize mining-related bills in the fiscal session, including restoring local government authority over crypto mines (SR7), a fee for extraordinary electricity use (SR8), a ban on mining with foreign-made equipment (SR9), money-transmitter licensing for miners (SR10), advance notice before mine land purchases (SR11) and state water-use monitoring (SR12). LegiScan shows SR7 died in the Senate at sine die adjournment on April 29, 2026; we did not confirm the outcome of the others. King's six similar 2024 proposals passed the Senate but failed in the House, per the Arkansas Advocate.
- 2025-04-14: Act 557 of 2025 (HB1467) added crypto kiosk consumer protections to the Uniform Money Services Act. Separately, HB1746 (controllable electronic records in the UCC) is shown as enacted April 22, 2025, per Bitcoin Laws. Two 2025 mining bills, SB10 (water use and grid impacts) and SB60 (mining within thirty miles of military facilities), failed on May 5, 2025. We found no 2025 law that changed mining rules directly.
- 2024-04: Fiscal-session Acts 173 and 174 of 2024 on crypto mining: repealed the 2023 ban on local noise and zoning rules, set cooling or setback requirements, barred 'prohibited foreign party' ownership (divestment deadline reported as May 3, 2025 for Act 173), and Act 174 created an Oil and Gas Commission permitting process. Based on a county association summary.
Sources: Arkansas Advocate via Arkadelphian (Apr 13, 2026), LegiScan: SR7 (2026 fiscal session), Tracking Arkansas: SR7 briefing, HB1467 bill page, Arkansas Legislature, Bitcoin Laws: Arkansas, SB10 bill page, Arkansas Legislature, Association of Arkansas Counties: fiscal session mining acts
Source notes: No 2026 Arkansas crypto statute was found (fiscal session only; the 2026 NCSL tracker lists no Arkansas bills). Outcomes of resolutions SR8 to SR12 were not confirmed. Task force finding rests on one county-association article and the absence of any other body in trackers; the interim study's date, instrument and results are unconfirmed. The Act 557 effective date and the 2023 Data Centers Act bill number are unconfirmed (one source gives HB1799, another credits Sen. Joshua Bryant's Act 851). The Arkansas Blockchain Council's current status is unconfirmed.
Frequently asked
Does Arkansas have a crypto or blockchain task force?
Arkansas has had 1 such body: Senate Public Health, Welfare and Labor Committee interim study of digital asset mining facilities (status unclear). Our confidence in this entry is Reported. The entry above lists who created it, who organized and leads it, and where the public records are.
Does Arkansas have a bitcoin or digital asset reserve law?
Our research shows the status as none found (confidence: None found). We found no Arkansas bitcoin or digital asset reserve bill or state-fund crypto investment bill in the 2025 regular session or the 2026 fiscal session. NCSL's 2026 tracker lists no Arkansas bills, its 2025 tracker lists none on reserves, and the Bitcoin Laws Arkansas page lists no reserve bill. Arkansas held only a fiscal session in 2026.
Does Arkansas regulate crypto kiosks (ATMs)?
Our research shows law (confidence: Confirmed). HB1467 became Act 557 of 2025 (House notified April 14, 2025; passed the House March 20 and the Senate April 8, 2025), amending the Uniform Money Services Act: kiosk risk and fraud disclosures, receipts, ID collection, blockchain analysis, daily limits of $2,000 for new customers and $7,500 for existing customers, a fee cap of $5 or 18%, refunds for new customers defrauded within 72 hours of registration, elder-customer calls, a chief compliance officer, and surety bonds. The legislature's bill page does not show an effective date and we have not confirmed it from the act text.
This page is part of our 50-state crypto legislation and task force tracker. Each entry is labeled Confirmed, Reported, Unclear or None found; see the tracker for how we research it.