← North Carolina  ·  All 50 states  ·  Ohio →

Task force: None foundReserve: FailedKiosks: Law

Task force or study body None found

No digital assets, blockchain or crypto task force, commission or study committee found. We searched: Searched ndlegis.gov and the web for ND digital asset / virtual currency / blockchain task force, study or commission. Found HCR 3022 (2025), a resolution asking Legislative Management to consider studying political subdivision investments in stablecoins (sponsors incl. Rep. David Richter, Sen. Brad Bekkedahl), which failed in the House 15-75 on Feb 17, 2025. No enacted task force, EO or agency working group found. This item had not received a full follow-up search at the time of review.

None found; not a definitive negative. Reference links: HCR 3022 (2025) overview - failed - https://ndlegis.gov/assembly/69-2025/regular/bill-overview/bo3022.html

Bitcoin or digital asset reserve law Confirmed

HB 1184 (2025), allowing investment of state funds in digital assets and precious metals (new sections in NDCC chs. 15-01, 21-10, 54-11), failed on House second reading 32-57 on Jan 31, 2025. HCR 3001 (2025), a non-binding resolution urging the Treasurer and State Investment Board to invest selected funds in digital assets and precious metals, was adopted by the House 83-5 but failed in the Senate on April 9, 2025.

Sources: HB 1184 (2025) overview, HCR 3001 (2025) overview

Licensing Confirmed

North Dakota's Money Transmitter Act (NDCC ch. 13-09.1, administered by the Department of Financial Institutions) licenses 'virtual-currency business activity' (exchanging, transferring, storing or administering virtual currency) as money transmission; the chapter text says it took effect August 1, 2023. Exemptions include persons providing only connectivity software or computing power, personal-use activity, activity of $5,000 or less annually, and qualifying securities/commodity intermediaries; the Commissioner can grant further exemptions.

Sources: NDCC chapter 13-09.1 (PDF)

Crypto kiosks (ATMs) Confirmed

HB 1447 (2025), signed by the Governor on April 10 (status line) or April 11 (governor section) and filed April 11, 2025, created NDCC 13-09.1-50 to -54: kiosk operators must hold a ND money transmitter license, keep kiosks in accessible, well-lit locations, report kiosk locations quarterly, make risk and fraud disclosures and give receipts (including refund/liability statements), use blockchain analytics, maintain antifraud and enhanced due-diligence policies with full-time compliance and consumer-protection officers, cap acceptance at $2,000 per customer per day, and staff live customer service Mon-Fri 8am-10pm CT. The enrolled text read has no fee cap or refund mandate (earlier committee amendments had a $1,000 limit and refunds). A secondary source gives the effective date as August 1, 2025 and Chapter 143; the primary pages read did not state either.

Sources: NDLegis - HB 1447 overview, HB 1447 enrolled-version text (unsigned copy), ND DFI - Crypto ATMs, CryptoSlate profile (secondary; effective date and chapter number)

Other 2025 to 2026 actions

  • 2025-02-17: HCR 3022, asking Legislative Management to consider a study of local-government investments in stablecoins, failed in the House 15-75.

Sources: HCR 3022 overview

Source notes: HB 1447 effective date and chapter number rest on a secondary source. ND legislature meets in odd years; no 2026 regular session, so 2025 bills are the latest. Interim studies not checked.

Frequently asked

Does North Dakota have a crypto or blockchain task force?

We did not find one in North Dakota (confidence: None found). A "none found" result is not proof that no body exists, because small study groups are often poorly documented online.

Does North Dakota have a bitcoin or digital asset reserve law?

Our research shows the status as failed (confidence: Confirmed). HB 1184 (2025), allowing investment of state funds in digital assets and precious metals (new sections in NDCC chs. 15-01, 21-10, 54-11), failed on House second reading 32-57 on Jan 31, 2025. HCR 3001 (2025), a non-binding resolution urging the Treasurer and State Investment Board to invest selected funds in digital assets and precious metals, was adopted by the House 83-5 but failed in the Senate on April 9, 2025.

Does North Dakota regulate crypto kiosks (ATMs)?

Our research shows law (confidence: Confirmed). HB 1447 (2025), signed by the Governor on April 10 (status line) or April 11 (governor section) and filed April 11, 2025, created NDCC 13-09.1-50 to -54: kiosk operators must hold a ND money transmitter license, keep kiosks in accessible, well-lit locations, report kiosk locations quarterly, make risk and fraud disclosures and give receipts (including refund/liability statements), use blockchain analytics, maintain antifraud and enhanced due-diligence policies with full-time compliance and consumer-protection officers, cap acceptance at $2,000 per customer per day, and staff live customer service Mon-Fri 8am-10pm CT. The enrolled text read has no fee cap or refund mandate (earlier committee amendments had a $1,000 limit and refunds). A secondary source gives the effective date as August 1, 2025 and Chapter 143; the primary pages read did not state either.

This page is part of our 50-state crypto legislation and task force tracker. Each entry is labeled Confirmed, Reported, Unclear or None found; see the tracker for how we research it.

← North Carolina  ·  All 50 states  ·  Ohio →