← Nevada  ·  All 50 states  ·  New Jersey →

Task force: ActiveReserve: EnactedKiosks: Law

Task force or study body Confirmed

Governor's Commission on Cryptocurrencies and Digital Assets · Concluded

  • Created by: Executive order by Gov. Chris Sununu, Feb 9, 2022 (date per The Block; order number not stated on the state page, file name suggests 2022-01, unconfirmed)
  • Organized by: Office of the Governor (Sununu)
  • Led by: Chair: Bill Ardinger (state press release; report approved Dec 2022)
  • Members: Per press: representatives of the Bank Department and Attorney General's office (two state-agency members abstained on the final vote), members of both legislative chambers, and three public members with crypto expertise. Full roster not on pages we read.
  • Outputs and timeline: Final report approved unanimously (agency members abstaining) in Dec 2022 and released Jan 20, 2023: 67 pages, 12 recommendations urging a proactive legal framework for blockchain businesses and clearer application of consumer and investor protection law. Meetings posted for Apr 1 - Jun 29, 2022.

Sources: Governor's commission page, Governor's press release on final report, Final report PDF (link as given by StateScoop), StateScoop coverage (Jan 20, 2023), The Block: commission established (Feb 2022)

Commission to Study Stable Tokens, Tokenized Real-World Assets, and Blockchain-based Trusts · Active

  • Created by: HB 310 (2025), Chapter Law 177:1, codified at RSA 383:26, effective July 15, 2025
  • Organized by: New Hampshire General Court (legislative commission); meetings held at the NH Banking Department
  • Led by: Chair elected from among members under statute; chair not identified on the General Court commission page (page read Nov 2026)
  • Members: Per General Court page (8 listed): Reps. Keith Ammon, Jim Kofalt, Chris McAleer; Sens. Daryl Abbas, Tara Reardon; Michael Moranti (Banking Dept.); Katie Taylor (Secretary of State designee); Brandon Garod (Attorney General designee). Statute provides for 17 seats, including Governor-appointed blockchain, banking and academic members.
  • Outputs and timeline: Meetings Jan 14, Feb 10, Mar 10, Apr 6, May 4, May 13, Aug 19 and Sep 17, 2026. Report due on or before Nov 1, 2026; the General Court page showed 'Report Filed: No'. Statute repeals the commission effective Nov 1, 2026.

Sources: General Court commission page, RSA 383:26, HB 310 (2025) bill text (tracker)

As of Nov 2, 2026 the stable tokens commission's report deadline (Nov 1, 2026) and repeal date have just passed; whether a report was filed is not confirmed (the page showed not filed at the time we read it). Treat status as 'active' per the page but probably concluding.

Bitcoin or digital asset reserve law Reported

HB 302 (2025), signed by Gov. Kelly Ayotte on May 6, 2025 (chapter 4 per a bill tracker), lets the state treasurer invest up to 5% of public funds in precious metals and in digital assets whose prior-year average market cap exceeds $500 billion (currently only bitcoin), held via secure custody, a qualified custodian, or an ETP. Widely reported as the first state bitcoin reserve law. Tracker shows effective date discrepancy (July 5, 2025 in text vs May 7, 2025 on docket).

Sources: HB 302 (2025) detail (NH Liberty Alliance bill tracker), Decrypt: NH signs bitcoin reserve bill, Bloomberg Government report

Licensing Confirmed

RSA 399-G:3, VII exempts persons dealing solely in convertible virtual currency from the money transmitter licensing statute; they remain subject to the Consumer Protection Act (RSA 358-A). The Banking Department's posted position says businesses handling fiat, or fiat and crypto, still need a license. HB 639 (2026) also exempts miners, home miners and node operators from money transmitter licensing (see notable).

Sources: RSA 399-G (Money Transmission), NH Banking Department position on crypto jurisdiction

Crypto kiosks (ATMs) Reported

SB 482 (2026) creates RSA chapter 358-U for 'digital access transaction kiosks': a 48-hour hold on a customer's first transaction, identity verification, $2,000 per-day cap, fraud-screening prompts and warnings, blockchain analytics, fee and spread disclosures, receipts, and full refunds for fraud reported within 14 days; violations enforced under RSA 358-A. Per the bill tracker docket it was signed June 19, 2026 (Chapter 187) and takes effect Dec 16, 2026. Before this, NH Bulletin (Apr 2026) reported kiosks were not regulated by state law. Final terms come from a tracker summary; the House amended the bill, so verify against the chaptered text.

Sources: SB 482 (2026) detail (bill tracker), NH Bulletin: lawmakers tangle over kiosk safeguards (Apr 17, 2026)

Other 2025 to 2026 actions

  • 2026-07-10: HB 639, Blockchain Basic Laws, signed by Gov. Ayotte (Chapter 286, effective Sept 8, 2026 per tracker): protects digital asset use and self-custody, exempts miners and node operators from money transmitter licensing, addresses staking and securities treatment, and creates a consent-based blockchain dispute docket in superior court.
  • 2025-11/12: NH Business Finance Authority board approved a structure for a $100 million bitcoin-backed municipal bond (BitGo custody; sponsors say no taxpayer funds or state guarantees at risk). The Dec 5, 2025 article says Governor and Executive Council approval was still required; later status not confirmed.
  • 2025-07-15: HB 310 (Chapter 177) established the stable tokens, tokenized real-world assets and blockchain-based trusts study commission (see task force).

Sources: HB 639 (2026) detail (bill tracker), NH Business Review (contributed content, Dec 5, 2025), RSA 383:26

Source notes: Governor's commission is a 2022-2023 body; its page does not state concluded. HB 302, SB 482 and HB 639 details come from a bill tracker and press, not gc.nh.gov chaptered text, which we did not open. HB 302 effective-date discrepancy. Stable tokens commission report was due Nov 1, 2026 and not shown as filed. BFA bond approval status after Dec 2025 not verified.

Frequently asked

Does New Hampshire have a crypto or blockchain task force?

New Hampshire has had 2 such bodies: Governor's Commission on Cryptocurrencies and Digital Assets (concluded); Commission to Study Stable Tokens, Tokenized Real-World Assets, and Blockchain-based Trusts (active). Our confidence in this entry is Confirmed. The entry above lists who created it, who organized and leads it, and where the public records are.

Does New Hampshire have a bitcoin or digital asset reserve law?

Our research shows the status as enacted (confidence: Reported). HB 302 (2025), signed by Gov. Kelly Ayotte on May 6, 2025 (chapter 4 per a bill tracker), lets the state treasurer invest up to 5% of public funds in precious metals and in digital assets whose prior-year average market cap exceeds $500 billion (currently only bitcoin), held via secure custody, a qualified custodian, or an ETP. Widely reported as the first state bitcoin reserve law. Tracker shows effective date discrepancy (July 5, 2025 in text vs May 7, 2025 on docket).

Does New Hampshire regulate crypto kiosks (ATMs)?

Our research shows law (confidence: Reported). SB 482 (2026) creates RSA chapter 358-U for 'digital access transaction kiosks': a 48-hour hold on a customer's first transaction, identity verification, $2,000 per-day cap, fraud-screening prompts and warnings, blockchain analytics, fee and spread disclosures, receipts, and full refunds for fraud reported within 14 days; violations enforced under RSA 358-A. Per the bill tracker docket it was signed June 19, 2026 (Chapter 187) and takes effect Dec 16, 2026. Before this, NH Bulletin (Apr 2026) reported kiosks were not regulated by state law. Final terms come from a tracker summary; the House amended the bill, so verify against the chaptered text.

This page is part of our 50-state crypto legislation and task force tracker. Each entry is labeled Confirmed, Reported, Unclear or None found; see the tracker for how we research it.

← Nevada  ·  All 50 states  ·  New Jersey →